Skip to content

WHICH OF THE LEICA R CAMERAS SHOULD YOU GET?

LEICA without brand

The LEICA R series replaced the LEICAFLEX cameras in 1976. Due to their uncompromisingly high-quality workmanship, the latter were so expensive to manufacture that LEICA had to offer them below its own manufacturing costs in order to sell them. (See also my article about the LEICAFLEX SL2)

Twelve different cameras were built from the LEICA R series. The number is therefore larger than the designations R3 to R9 suggest. This is due to the fact that some of the cameras were either developed in a further stage of development or a reduced version with the same numbering.

If you think that the newer cameras with the higher numbers are automatically the recommended models, you will be surprised.

The LEICA R Series

Leica R3 (1976–1979)

The LEICA R3 was the first camera developed together with MINOLTA. It was equipped with aperture priority, a metal lamella shutter and both integral and spot metering for exposure. It had a few teething troubles, which were then gradually remedied. Even the relocation of production from Germany to Portugal shortly after the start of production led to fluctuations in quality at the time. (In the video of "Analog Insights", further down, for example, the mirror sometimes only folded halfway up when releasing the shutter - half pictures were the result) About 70,000 units were built by her, most of them black, only a few thousand in silver and olive (Safari-Edition).

The R bayonet was taken over from the LEICAFLEX series, but only with the so-called 3cam versions of the R lenses all functions of the camera can be used. At that time LEICA offered the service of upgrading 1cam and 2cam lenses to 3cam, which many customers took advantage of at that time. In order to further reduce production costs, these cameras were then manufactured in Portugal.

The LEICA R3 is essentially identical in construction to the XE-1 from MINOLTA, which was already two years on the market when the LEICA R3 was introduced.

This video informs you about the small but important differences:

LEICA R3 MOT ELECTRONIC

I bought my LEICA R3 on eBay. This camera came in top condition (like new) from a collector's stock and cost "only" US$ 299 including the motor and the original packaging (OVP).

But without the lens: This is the very, very good 21mm SUPER-ANGULON-R f4 from LEICA, which I will report about separately on my website.

R3
HenningesBUCHLeicaR4-7

Leica R4 (1980–1986)

The R4 was equipped with the technology of the XD-7 from MINOLTA and got in addition to the automatic shutter control also an automatic aperture control, an oscillating mirror (so low in vibration that a mirror pre-triggering was omitted), a standard design for motor drive, as well as a design with somewhat rounder shapes, which was then essentially preserved until the R7. Also the R4 was delivered (like the R3) essentially in black.

Leica R4s (1983-1988)

The R4s was the result of the price war with the Japanese manufacturers and was offered cheaper without the aperture and program automatic. Otherwise identical in construction with the R4.

The book by Heiner Hennings from the publisher "Laterna Magica".

Heiner Hennings was editor-in-chief of the magazine LEICA FOTOGRAFIE for a long time - hardly any outsider knew the company LEICA and its products as well as he did. This book can only be found in antiquarian bookshops; if you want to delve deeper into the subject matter, you should take the trouble to find a copy.

Leica R5 (1986–1991)

TTL flash control, 1/2000 sec instead of 1/1000 sec, a modified data display in the viewfinder and a built-in diopter correction were the main differences to the R4. In addition there was a better dust protection. About 50.000 units were built of the F5.

Leica R-E (1990-1994)

There was also a cheaper version of the R5, which - like the F4s - was identical in construction except for the aperture and aperture priority.

Leica R6.2 silver

Leica R6 (1988–1992)

The LEICA R6 was not a successor of the R5 - this was the R7. The R6 was a completely independent series, which was produced parallel to the R7 until the end. With the R6 LEICA again focused on professional photographers. It had no more aperture and shutter speed automatics, it was again a purely mechanical camera which only needed electricity for exposure metering.

Leica R6.2 (1992-2002)

The R6.2 brought some small improvements besides the faster shutter speed (R6 1/1000 sec) of 1/2000 sec.
In my opinion the R6.2 is the best camera of this R-series.

Shown here with 80mm f1.4 SUMMILUX-R lens

LEICA R 6.2 black

As with all LEICA cameras, there was also a black version of the silver camera. As with the LEICAFLEX SL2, the black camera is more in demand and therefore more expensive than the silver version.

I could buy both cameras practically new, both on eBay. Both cameras then also got the hand strap from Eddycam, which they now also offer in the LEICA colours black/red (and now also with red stitching).

The best book about the LEICA R-series was written by Brian Long. You can still buy the book new, for less than thirty dollars - highly recommended!

Leica R6.2 black
Brian Long

Leica R7 (1992–1997)

An unloved model that you can buy for a reasonable price. The reason is the thicker bottom cover, which makes the camera bulky. It was necessary to accommodate additional electronics (microprocessor control). I do not recommend this model, the electronics can always stop working with such old cameras.

Interesting websites about the LEICA R-series

LEICAR9

WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW BEFORE YOU BUY AN R8 OR R9

In 2009 LEICA handed over all spare parts for repairs of the R series to the company Paepke-Fototechnik in Düsseldorf.

As you can see from the website of the company Paepke, only the cameras R3-R7 can be sent in. There are no more spare parts for the R8 or R9 cameras, repairs are not possible any more.

So if there is a defect in the electronics, you can only drop the R8 and R9 cameras.

COMPATIBILITY OF LEICA R CAMERAS AND LENSES

As you can see in the adjacent table, not all lens versions are compatible with all R cameras.

You are on the safe side with the so-called 3cam lenses, the 1cam and 2cam versions should not be bought anymore, unless you are sure that you only want to use the compatible cameras.

LEICA_ROM3CAM
Leica R6.2 silver

AND THE WINNER IS . . . THE LEICA R6.2!

What may initially appear to be its biggest disadvantage in my eyes is its biggest plus: no electronics, everything is mechanical - only the light meter is dependent on a power supply.

Where there are no electronics, none can break down. Soldering joints, transistors, circuits - all these have a limited life span. The LEICA R6.2 is mechanical and can even be used without the built-in light meter.

Also Brian Long, by far the best author of a LEICA R-series book, seems to have chosen the R6.2 as his favourite - it is pictured on the cover of his book (see above).
The R6.2 has a top quality finish and for me there is only one competitor from LEICA among the SLR's:

LEICA R 6.2 vs. LEICAFLEX SL2

The LEICAFLEX SL2 had been designed and built with no consideration for cost. The manufacturing costs were so high that LEICA was losing money with every camera sold.

The R-series, developed with extensive help from MINOLTA, was designed with economic considerations in mind and to further reduce costs, the manufacturing was moved from Germany to Portugal.

The LEICAFLEX SL2 is a tanker, solid and of high quality, exceptionally elaborately built. With the LEICA R-series one had to save on manufacturing costs in order to be able to earn something at competitive prices; but that is whining on a very high level, the LEICA R 6.2 is also a really good camera.

LEICA_SL2_Vitrine_a

Zum Inhalt springen

WELCHE DER LEICA R KAMERAS SOLLTE MAN SICH ZULEGEN?

LEICAohne

Die LEICA R-Serie löste 1976 die LEICAFLEX-Kameras ab. Letztere waren durch ihre kompromisslos hochwertige Verarbeitung so teuer in der Herstellung, dass LEICA sie unter den eigenen Herstellungskosten anbieten musste, um sie verkaufen zu können. (Siehe dazu auch mein Artikel zur LEICAFLEX SL2)

Von der LEICA R-Serie wurden zwölf verschiedene Kameras gebaut. Die Anzahl ist also größer als es die Bezeichnungen R3 bis R9 vermuten lassen. Das kommt daher, dass es von einigen Kameras entweder noch eine weitere Entwicklungsstufe oder eine abgespeckte Version mit gleicher Nummerierung gab.

Wer glaubt die neueren Kameras mit den höheren Nummern seien automatisch auch die hier empfohlenen Modelle, wird überrascht sein.

Die LEICA R Serie

Leica R3 (1976–1979)

Die LEICA R3 war die erste zusammen mit MINOLTA entwickelte Kamera. Sie verfügte über Zeitautomatik, hatte einen Metalllamellenverschluss und bei der Belichtung sowohl Integral- als auch Spotmessung. Sie hatte ein paar Kinderkrankheiten, die dann nach und nach behoben wurden. Auch die Verlegung der Produktion von Deutschland nach Portugal kurz nach Fertigungsbeginn hat damals zu Schwankungen bei der Qualität geführt. (In dem Video von "Analog Insights", weiter unten, klappte zum Beispiel der Spiegel beim Auslösen manchmal nur halb hoch - halbe Bilder waren die Folge) Etwa 70.000 Stück wurden von ihr gebaut, die meisten schwarz, nur einige tausend in silber und oliv (Safari-Edition).

Das R-Bajonett wurde von der LEICAFLEX-Serie übernommen, allerdings können nur mit den sogenannten 3cam Versionen der R-Objektive alle Funktionalitäten der Kamera genutzt werden. Damals bot LEICA den Service 1cam und 2cam Objektive auf 3cam nachrüsten zu lassen, was damals viele Kunden in Anspruch genommen haben. Um die Herstellungskosten weiter senken zu können wurden diese Kameras dann in Portugal hergestellt.

Die LEICA R3 ist im Wesentlichen baugleich mit der XE-1 von MINOLTA, die schon zwei Jahre auf dem Markt war, als die LEICA R3 vorgestellt wurde.

Über die kleinen, aber feinen Unterschiede informiert dieses Video:

LEICA R3 MOT ELECTRONIC

Meine LEICA R3 habe ich auf eBay gekauft. Diese Kamera kam im Topzustand (wie neu) aus einem Sammlerbestand und hat inklusive des Motors und der Originalverpackung (OVP) "nur" US$ 299 gekostet.

Allerdings ohne das Objektiv: Dies hier ist das sehr, sehr gute 21mm SUPER-ANGULON-R f4 von LEICA, über das ich hier auf meiner Webseite noch getrennt berichten werde.

R3
HenningesBUCHLeicaR4-7

Leica R4 (1980–1986)

Die R4 bekam mit der Technik der XD-7 von MINOLTA dann zusätzlich zur Zeitautomatik auch eine Blendenautomatik, einen Rückschwingspiegel (so erschütterungsarm, dass man auf eine Spiegelvorauslösung verzichtete) eine serienmäßige Auslegung auf Motorantrieb, sowie ein Design mit etwas runderen Formen, das dann bis zur R7 im wesentlichen erhalten blieb. Auch die R4 wurde (wie die R3) im wesentlichen schwarz ausgeliefert.

Leica R4s (1983–1988)

Die R4s war dem Preiskampf mit den japanischen Herstellern geschuldet und konnte ohne die Blenden- und Programmautomatik billiger angeboten werden. Ansonsten baugleich mit der R4.

Das Buch von Heiner Hennings aus dem Verlag "Laterna Magica"

Heiner Hennings war lange Chefredakteur der Zeitschrift LEICA FOTOGRAFIE - wohl kaum ein Außenstehender kannte die Firma LEICA und ihre Produkte so gut wie er. Dieses Buch kann man nur noch in Antiquariaten finden; wer tiefer in die Materie eintauchen möchte, sollte sich die Mühe machen ein Exemplar aufzuspüren.

Leica R5 (1986–1991)

TTL-Blitzsteuerung, 1/2000 sec statt 1/1000 sec, eine veränderte Datenanzeige im Sucher und eine fest eingebaute Dioptrenkorrektur waren die wesentlichen Unterschiede zur R4. Hinzu kam noch ein besserer Staubschutz. Etwa 50.000 Stück wurden von der F5 gebaut.

Leica R-E (1990–1994)

Auch von der R5 gab es eine billigere Variante, die - wie bei der F4s - bis auf die Blenden- und Zeitautomatik baugleich war.

LeicaR6.2silber_a

Leica R6 (1988–1992)

Die LEICA R6 war kein Nachfolger der R5 - das war die R7. Die R6 war eine ganz eigenständige Baureihe, die bis zum Schluß parallel zur R7 gefertigt wurde. Mit der R6 wandte sich LEICA wieder den professionellen Fotografen zu. Sie hatte keine Blenden- und Zeitautomatiken mehr, sie war wieder eine rein mechanische Kamera, die nur zur Belichtungsmessung Strom benötigt.

Leica R6.2 (1992–2002)

Die R6.2 brachte neben der mit 1/2000 sec schnelleren Verschlusszeit (R6 1/1000 sec) noch ein paar kleine Verbesserungen.
Aus meiner Sicht ist die R6.2 die beste Kamera dieser R- Serie.

Abbildung hier mit Objektiv 80mm f1.4 SUMMILUX-R

LEICA R 6.2 schwarz

Wie bei allen LEICA-Kameras gab es zur silbernen Variante auch eine schwarze Kamera. Wie auch bei der LEICAFLEX SL2 ist die schwarze Kamera etwas nachgefragter und daher auch teurer als die silberne Version.

Ich konnte beide Kameras praktisch im Neuzustand erstehen, beide auf eBay. Beide Kameras haben dann auch die Handschlaufe von Eddycam bekommen, die sie jetzt auch in den LEICA-Farben schwarz/rot (und jetzt auch mit roter Naht) anbieten.

Das beste Buch zur LEICA R-Serie hat Brian Long geschrieben. Noch kann man das Buch neu erwerben, für unter dreißig Dollar- sehr empfehlenswert!

LeicaR6.2schwarz_a
BrianLong

Leica R7 (1992–1997)

Ein ungeliebtes Modell, das man preiswert erwerben kann. Grund ist der dickere Bodendeckel, der die Kamera unförmig macht. Er war notwendig, um zusätzliche Elektronik unterzubringen (Mikroprozessorsteuerung). Dieses Modell empfehle ich nicht, die Elektronik kann bei so alten Kameras immer den Dienst quittieren.

Interessante Webseiten zur LEICA R-Serie

LEICAR9

WAS MAN WISSEN SOLLTE BEVOR MAN EINE R8 ODER R9 ERWIRBT

LEICA hat 2009 alle Ersatzteile für Reparaturen der R-Serie an die Firma Paepke-Fototechnik in Düsseldorf übergeben.

Wie aus der Webseite der Firma Paepke ersichtlich ist, können nur die Kameras R3-R7 eingeschickt werden. Es gibt keine Ersatzteile für die Kameras R8 oder R9 mehr, Reparaturen sind hier nicht mehr möglich.

Wenn also ein Defekt in der Elektronik auftritt, kann man die R8 und R9 Kameras nur noch wegwerfen.

KOMPATIBILITÄT VON LEICA R KAMERAS UND OBJEKTIVEN

Wie man der nebenstehenden Tabelle entnehmen kann, sind nicht alle Objektiv-Versionen mit allen R-Kameras kompatibel.

Auf der sicheren Seite ist man mit den sogenannten 3cam-Objektiven, die 1cam und 2cam Versionen sollte man nicht mehr kaufen, es sei denn man ist sich sicher nur die kompatiblen Kameras nutzen zu wollen.

LEICA_ROM3CAM
LeicaR6.2silber_a

AND THE WINNER IS . . . DIE LEICA R6.2!

Was zunächst als ihr größter Nachteil aussehen mag, ist in meinen Augen ihr größtes Plus: Keine Elektronik, alles mechanisch - nur der Belichtungsmesser ist abhängig von einer Stromversorgung.

Wo keine Elektronik ist, kann auch keine kaputt gehen. Lötstellen, Transistoren, Schaltkreise - all das hat nur eine begrenzte Lebensdauer. Die LEICA R6.2 ist mechanisch und lässt sich sogar ohne den eingebauten Belichtungsmesser nutzen.

Auch Brian Long, der Autor des mit Abstand besten Buches zur LEICA R-Serie scheint die R6.2 als Favoriten auserkoren zu haben - sie ist auf dem Cover seines Buches abgebildet (siehe oben).

Qualitativ top verarbeitet hat die R6.2 für mich unter den SLR's nur einen Konkurrenten aus dem Hause LEICA:

LEICA R 6.2 vs. LEICAFLEX SL2

Die LEICAFLEX SL2 war ohne Rücksicht auf Kosten entworfen und gebaut worden. Die Herstellungskosten waren so hoch, dass LEICA bei jeder verkauften Kamera Geld verlor.

Die mit umfassender Hilfe von MINOLTA entwickelte R-Serie wurde unter ökonomischen Gesichtspunkten entworfen und zur weiteren Kostenreduzierung wurde die Herstellung von Deutschland nach Portugal verlegt.

Die LEICAFLEX SL2 ist ein Tanker, solide und wertig, außergewöhnlich aufwändig gebaut. Bei der LEICA R-Serie musste man bei den Herstellungskosten sparen, um bei konkurrenzfähigen Preisen noch etwas verdienen zu können; das ist aber Jammern auf sehr hohem Niveau, die LEICA R 6.2  ist auch eine richtig gute Kamera.

LEICA_SL2_Vitrine_a