Skip to content

LEICAFLEX SL 2 and 50mm SUMMICRON-R f2
Top station wagon for well under US$ 1,000

The LEICAFLEX SL2, which was delivered between 1974 and 1976, is still regarded by experts as the best LEICA SLR camera of all times. Point.

At the same time, it is today the cheapest entry into the LEICA world. I bought the camera shown here in top condition for US$ 400 on eBay in December 2019. And the LEICA 50mm f2 SUMMICRON lens for only US$ 299 !

LEICA_SL2_Vitrine_a
LEICAFLEX_SL2_Werbung

LEICAFLEX SL 2

When the LEICAFLEX SL2 came onto the market, LEICA believed that the SLR cameras (DSLR) would replace the old rangefinder cameras from their own company: "Es gibt keine Bessere" (There is no better one, see ad). The view directly through the lens made it easier to focus and ended the problems with the faded-in frames in the rangefinder cameras, which were also not or only to a limited extent compatible with extreme wide-angle lenses and with longer focal lengths. In addition, the trend across brands was clearly towards a single-lens reflex camera.

The new R-bayonet also provided the LEICAFLEX cameras a significantly larger diameter compared to the M-bayonet, which gave the engineers at LEICA more freedom for lens construction and thus enabled the calculation of better lenses. Consequently, LEICA positioned the cameras with the R-bayonet internally and also in their advertising over their own rangefinder cameras with the M-bayonet.

LEICA 50mm SUMMICRON-R f2 II

And also the lenses were better. Probably the world's most famous LEICA ambassador - the Dane Thorsten von Overgaard - is not only concerned with the photographs that can be taken with LEICA lenses, but also with their technical and optical characteristics in great detail. He writes the following about the Leica 50mm Summicron-R f/2.0 lens

"The world's best lens with a focal length of 50mm, the Leica 50mm Summicron-R f/2.0 (No. 11 215) was designed by Dr. Walter Mandler in 1976 and produced until 2009. It is larger, but otherwise very similar to the Summicron-M (Version IV, No. 11826); the M version of the 50mm Summicron, designed by Dr. Walter Mandler in 1979, is a scaled-down version of the R version, and is still produced today as a low-cost standard lens ($2,295).

The world's best lens with a focal length of 50mm - the LEICA experts agreed on this - was not an M lens, but this one from the R bayonet series!

Leica50mmf2

Here is the link to the English text on his website. His YouTube-Channel is also worth a visit, but be careful: it's addictive!

WHY LEICA DISCONTINUED THE PRODUCTION OF THEIR BEST CAMERA IN 1976

So, the best camera with the best lens - why would anybody want to end that success story voluntarily?

At the time, LEICA was struggling with two serious problems: on the one hand, the cameras from NIKON and CANON had a considerable technological advantage, and on the other hand, the LEICAFLEX SL2, which was already twice as expensive, had to be priced significantly below the production costs, in order to stay competitive. It was hoped to make up for this loss by selling the lenses, which were already priced in at an elite level, and thus still being able to make profits.

However, this calculation did not work and so LEICA had to end this ruinous strategy after three years (1974-1976) and over 25,000 LEICAFLEX SL2 cameras sold.

The successor of the LEICAFLEX SLR cameras was the R-series, developed together with MINOLTA, starting with the LEICA R3 in 1976.

About the advantages and disadvantages of the LEICAFLEX

Anyone who - like me - has always photographed with SLR cameras from the start would usually no longer want to do without a direct view through the lens. With rangefinder cameras, you look through a small window into which the framelines of the corresponding lenses are displayed. Depending on the camera, photography is only possible from 28 - 90mm. More extreme wide-angle or telephoto lenses are not framed correctly. In addition, the best and brightest lenses, such as those from the NOCTILUX series, block the field of vision in the lower right area - then you can only look at your own lens through the viewfinder on the right, the field of view is reduced.

Lenses of all focal lengths from the R-Mount series can be used on the LEICAFLEX and I always see what will later get in the photo. I can also have the depth of field shown when I press the button provided. Last but not least, it should be mentioned that the sound that the shutter makes does not sound as good and full - and yet so subtle - with any other camera as with this one. The above-average use of material in this camera dampens the noise more than in lighter cameras that vibrate (clatter) when the shutter is released. Like the rich sound of the door of a luxury sedan.

On the other hand, the M-cameras are lighter, smaller and, of course, more suitable as easily stowable "always-on-camera". And the new M lenses can be used. And an M is an M!

Prices of the R lenses and the LEICAFLEX SL2 camera

Since the production of the SLR cameras with the R-bayonet was discontinued in 2009, the R-lenses have been excluded from further development. Although LEICA manufactures an adapter for R to M bayonets, that's a "no go" for purists because the lenses are bigger and also weigh more than the native M lenses.

As a result, the R lenses are now also much cheaper than the M lenses. Often a thousand dollars and more.

Using the example of the 50mm Summicron-R f2 II discussed here:
I paid US$ 299 for my copy at the end of 2019 (condition A- / B +). That's about a third of what you would have to pay for the same (and not quite as good!) lens with an M-mount.

And more so with the cameras:
I paid four hundred dollars for my LEICAFLEX. An M camera of the same age in the same condition would have cost at least five times as much - if not more.

Euro Symbol
LEICA_SL2_Vitrine_a

Quality

It is really no wonder that the construction of this LEICA camera caused losses at the time. A piece of German engineering was created here with great effort and also implemented camera by camera in the production.

The LEICAFLEX SL2 is built like a tank, very solid and robust. This is also noticeable in the weight, 770 grams for the case.

LEICA still offers service for these cameras today. In the unlikely event that something breaks, you can send it in. But I bought a second copy, just in case:

LeicaSl2black_a

The black SL2

I was able to acquire this Leicaflex from a collector's stock. It came in original packaging and has probably never been used - at least it has no traces of use. In addition, the lettering "Leitz" and "SL2" are still white; due to UV rays these letterings normally turn yellow. The lettering "LEICAFLEX" can easily be replaced as a spare part. Therefore it is white on many cameras, although the lettering on the left and right side of the camera is yellowed.

The black version costs much more than the silver one, and the black lacquer is much more susceptible to scratch marks - as you can see on most cameras offered for sale on eBay. This one was really a stroke of luck!

On the camera is the 35mm f2.0 SUMMICRON-R, which is described below.

IMPORTANT

At that time, LEICAFLEX SL cameras were designed for 1.35 volt batteries. The camera has two battery slots, one on the bottom and one on the front. However, since these 1.35 volt batteries contained mercury, they were banned. Since there are no 1.35 volt batteries available today, 1.5 volt batteries (type PX 625 A-G-U) have to be used.

As a result, the light meter gets more power than the manufacturer intended and therefore does not indicate correctly anymore. Either one has to send in the camera in order to have it readjusted or one sets the ASA (DIN) one level higher. With a 100 ASA film, this means 200 ASA. This is not 100% accurate, but the remaining small deviations can easily be corrected in post - if the lab hasn't already compensated for this when developing the film. It's no problem, you just have to know, otherwise the first film will not be exposed at its best.

Leica50mmf2

What serial number should the 50mm SUMMICRON-R f2 have?

This lens is available in two versions - Mark I and Mark II. However, this additional designation is not displayed on the lens itself and so it can only be derived from the serial numbers.

Leica 50mm Summicron-R f2 I
Years 1964 - 1976, Article No. 11 228
Leica 50mm Summicron-R f2 II
Years 1976 - 2009, Article No. 11 215

As can be seen in the photo, my lens has the serial number 2 822 821, so it is from the year of construction 1977 (serial numbers 2 809 401 - 2 880 600).

Actually, there should be a clear difference between these two versions on eBay, depending on whether they have a serial number of under or over 2 809 401 - because the newer MARK II lenses are better. But since many do not pay attention to the serial numbers, there is almost no price difference. Thus the purchase of the older variant due to a cheaper price is not recommended!

Lists of year of construction and serial numbers

Before you buy a camera or lens, you should definitely check the serial numbers to see when they were made.

  • cameras - Leica-Wiki
    My LEICAFLEX SL 2 has the serial number 1441711 and is assigned to the 1975-1976 production cycle in the wiki list.
  • lenses - Leica-Wiki
    The serial numbers of the lenses are very important because the lenses were sold under the same name in different versions, and the latest versions are often the best.
  • LEICA Kompendium by Thorsten von Overgaard
    This list has been researched very carefully. Here you can find information about all cameras and lenses, including the article numbers.
  • IMPORTANT
    The LEICAFLEX SL2 requires so-called 2-cam or 3-cam lenses, only then will the information be correctly transmitted to the camera's exposure meter. LEICA has often retrofitted old 1-cam lenses with 2- or 3-cam, so even very old lenses can have the correct connection format. Caution: The brand new R lenses with ROM contacts can only be attached to the LEICA R cameras - not to the LEICAFLEX! There should be 2-cam or better 3-cam in the name of the lens, then everything is OK, if it says ROM, then stay away!
    You can confirm that here >>>

 

LeicaRED-300x300

A video of the LEICAFLEX SL2 with the 50mm Summicron-R f2 II

Very good videos on analog photography are published on the YouTube channel "Analog Insights". This video presents the LEICAFLEX SL 2 in detail and shows its potential with sample photos:

Which lenses should you buy?

Actually you don't need any other lens besides the 50mm. Actually.

The focal length of 50mm is actually an all-rounder, a few steps forward or backward and the image section fits. Portraits, architecture, street photography, landscapes.

Landscape photography? Also works - nowadays panorama shots can be easily combined in Lightroom & Co.

If you read the reports from photographers, you hear again and again that a lens crystallizes out with which the most photos are taken and that additional focal lengths, especially in the telephoto range, often remain at home - too large, too heavy and unnecessary, if you take a few steps closer.
(Click here for an example)

With this 50mm lens there is also the fact that the quality is so high that you can not easily replace it with another one without losing quality. This is also what this young photographer thought when he preferred to buy a good camera with a fixed focal length rather than spread his money over many mediocre (zoom) lenses.

If you suffer from GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome), Thorsten von Overgaard can provide you lots of information on many other lenses.

Scroll far down on his website, there are references to macro and telephoto lenses, bellows and zooms.

The 35mm SUMMICRON-R f2 II

The 35mm focal length makes sense. If you take pictures in a narrow alley, you may not be able to take a step back. But here we leave the low-price sector: This lens alone costs more than the camera and the 50mm lens combined. This lens was also available in two versions - Mark I and Mark II.

Leica 35mm Summicron-R f2 I
Years 1972 - 1976, Article No. 11 227
Leica 35mm Summicron-R f2 II
Years 1977 - 2009, Article No. 11 115
This version was delivered from serial number 2791417 onwards

As with the 50mm lens, the newer version is recommended. If you don't want to spend as much, you can switch to the Elmarit lenses with 35mm or 28mm f2.8, but that's not the same quality anymore.

Leica50mmf2
LEICA_SL2_Zubehoer

Customize the camera

On the photo of my SL2 you can see a few useful accessories:

  • Wrist strap by EDDYCAM (1)
    EDDYCAM produces its very noble items for carrying cameras all out of moose leather. This is particularly soft and very pleasant on the skin. I find the combination of black outside and (Leica) red inside particularly suitable for LEICA cameras. But there are many other possible combinations.
    Click here for his shop >>>
  • Release button (2)
    With the SL2, the shutter release button is slightly recessed in the setting wheel for the shutter speeds. The sink does not look that good either, so you simply screw a release button into the thread for the remote release. This way I can keep the camera steady when it is released. Is available on eBay in all colors, just enter the search term "trigger button".
  • Spirit level (3)
    The "cold" hot shoe of the SL2 is also not a beauty. It is called "cold" because it has no contacts that could transmit information from a flash to the camera. The spirit level looks better in my eyes than the naked hot shoe and is useful when the camera is on the tripod and you would like an orientation for the horizon. There are eBay, search terms "spirit level" and "hot shoe".

HOLLYWOOD and the LEICA R lenses

Some lenses from the R-bayonet series have gained a lot of value in recent years. The reason is that you can shoot very nice videos with them, with a unique look that cineastes appreciate very much.

For example, a zoom lens, which was more likely to be found on the lower shelf at LEICA as an ELMARIT lens, has increased from a few hundred dollars to more than eight thousand dollars recently: the Leica 28-90mm Vario-Elmarit-R f / 2.8. The same applies to the Leica 35-70mm Vario-Elmarit-R f / 2.8. Greetings from Hollywood.

Other R lenses are also becoming more and more in the focus of directors, including the SUMMICRON-R lenses discussed here. The cameraman Daniel Haggert describes this development in his blog.

Film clap

CONCLUSION

You can still (!) buy a LEICA camera plus lens for less than US$ 1,000, which in this combination gives you everything in quality and Leica look that you could wish for. As described here, both the LEICAFLEX SL2 and the 50mm Summicron-R f2 lens even have advantages over the much more expensive M equipment.

Of course you are not as "hip" with the SL2 as with an M camera. Less informed contemporaries suspect that the M vintage cameras are better and more expensive - and are only right with the latter.

On the other hand, the M series is of course continuously being developed further. In recent years, some remarkable optics have been added to the range. However, prices are up to US$ 12,000 - per lens and not everyone perceives these newly developed lenses as progress. The hunt for more and more sharpness in order to be able to score higher and higher marks in the tests in the specialist journals can ultimately be at the expense of the photographs. LEICA specialist dealer Alexander Görlitz describes this very well in his blog >>>

The SL 2 offers a very high quality for very little money (always compared to other LEICA equipment), and also a certain understatement. From experts there will be an appreciative smile for this camera on encounter, for a photographer, who understood and then consciously chose this vintage camera.

And despite all understatement - after all, a LEICA remains a LEICA !

Zum Inhalt springen

LEICAFLEX SL 2 UND 50mm SUMMICRON-R f2
Top Kombi für deutlich unter US$ 1.000

Die 1974 - 1976 ausgelieferte LEICAFLEX SL2 gilt unter Fachleuten noch heute als die beste LEICA Spiegelreflexkamera aller Zeiten. Punkt.

Gleichzeitig ist sie heute der preiswerteste Einstieg in die LEICA-Welt. Die hier abgebildete Kamera habe ich im Dezember 2019 bei eBay im Topzustand für US$ 400 erworben. Und das LEICA 50mm f2 SUMMICRON Objektiv für nur US$ 299 !

LEICA_SL2_Vitrine_a
LEICAFLEX_SL2_Werbung

LEICAFLEX SL 2

Als die LEICAFLEX SL2 auf den Markt kam, glaubte man bei LEICA, dass die Spiegelreflexkameras (DSLR) die alten Messsucherkameras aus eigenem Hause ablösen würden: "Es gibt keine Bessere" (siehe Anzeige). Der Blick direkt durch das Objektiv erleichterte das Scharfstellen und beendete die Probleme mit den eingeblendeten Rahmen bei den Messucherkameras, die zudem bei extremeren Weitwinkelobjektiven und bei längeren Brennweiten gar nicht oder nur eingeschränkt einsetzbar waren. Zudem ging der Trend markenübergreifend damals eindeutig in Richtung Spiegelreflexkamera.

Die LEICAFLEX Kameras bekamen mit dem neuen R-Bajonett im Vergleich zum M-Bajonett obendrein einen erheblich vergrößerten Durchmesser, was den Ingenieruren bei LEICA mehr Freiheiten für die Objektivkonstruktion gab und so die Rechnung besserer Objektive ermöglichte. Folgerichtig stellte LEICA die Kameras mit dem R-Bajonett intern und auch in der Werbung nach außen über die eigenen Messucherkameras mit dem M-Bajonett.

LEICA 50mm SUMMICRON-R f2 II

Und auch die Objektive waren besser. Der weltweit wohl bekannteste LEICA Botschafter - der Däne Thorsten von Overgaard - beschäftigt sich nicht nur mit den Fotografien, die sich mit den LEICA-Objektiven erzielen lassen, sondern sehr eingehend auch mit deren technischen und optischen Eigenschaften. Er schreibt über das Leica 50mm Summicron-R f/2.0 Objektiv folgendes:

"Das weltweit beste Objektiv mit einer Brennweite von 50mm, das Leica 50mm Summicron-R f/2.0 (Nr. 11 215), wurde 1976 von Dr. Walter Mandler entworfen und bis zum Jahr 2009 produziert. Es ist größer, aber ansonsten dem Summicron-M (Version IV, Nr. 11826) sehr ähnlich; die von Dr. Walter Mandler 1979 entworfene M-Version des 50mm Summicron ist eine verkleinerte Version der R Version, und wird als preiswertes Standard Objektiv ($2,295) auch heute noch produziert."

Das weltweit beste Objektiv mit einer Brennweite von 50mm - darin waren sich die LEICA-Experten einig - war kein M-Objektiv, sondern dieses aus der R-Bajonett Reihe!

Leica50mmf2

Hier der Link zum englischen Text auf seiner Webseite. Auch sein YouTube-Channel ist einen Besuch wert, aber Vorsicht: Suchtgefahr!

WARUM LEICA 1976 DIE PRODUKTION IHRER BESTEN KAMERA EINSTELLTE

Also, die bis dahin beste Kamera mit dem besten Objektiv - warum sollte man das selber beenden wollen?

LEICA hatte zu der Zeit mit gleich zwei gravierenden Problemen zu kämpfen: Zum einen hatten die Kameras von NIKON und CANON einen beachtlichen technologischen Vorsprung, und zum anderen musste die ohnehin schon doppelt so teuere LEICAFLEX SL2 im Verkauf preislich noch deutlich unter die Herstellungskosten gedrückt werden, um annähernd wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Man hoffte diesen Verlust durch den Verkauf der schon damals elitär eingepreisten Objektive wieder wettmachen und so noch Gewinne erzielen zu können.

Diese Rechnung ging aber nicht auf und so musste LEICA diese ruinöse Strategie nach drei Jahren (1974-1976) und über 25.000 verkauften LEICAFLEX SL2-Kameras beenden.

Nachfolger der LEICAFLEX Spiegelreflexkameras wurde 1976 dann die gemeinsam mit MINOLTA entwickelte R-Serie, beginnend mit der LEICA R3.

Über die Vor- und Nachteile der LEICAFLEX

Wer - wie ich - von Anfang an immer mit Spiegelreflexkameras fotografiert hat, möchte den direkten Blick durch das Objektiv meist nicht mehr missen. Bei den Messsucherkameras schaut man am Objektiv vorbei durch ein kleines Fenster, in das dann die Bildausschnitte der entsprechenden Objektive eingeblendet werden. Je nach Kamera ist dann ein Fotografieren nur von 28 - 90mm möglich. Extremere Weitwinkel- oder auch Teleobjektive sind da nicht vorgesehen. Zudem versperren die besten und lichtstärksten Objektive, wie etwa die aus der NOCTILUX-Reihe, das Sichtfeld im unteren rechten Bereich - da schaut man dann durch den Messsucher rechts nur auf das eigene Objektiv, das Sichtfeld ist stark eingeschränkt.

An der LEICAFLEX kann man Objektive aller Brennweiten aus der R-Mount Serie nutzen und ich sehe immer das, was dann später auch auf dem Foto zu sehen sein wird. Ich kann mir auch die Schärfentiefe zeigen lassen, wenn ich auf den dafür vorgesehenen Knopf drücke. Zu guter letzt sei noch erwähnt, dass das Geräusch, dass der Verschluss macht, wohl bei keiner anderen Kamera so schön und so satt - und trotzdem so dezent - klingt, wie bei dieser. Der bei dieser Kamera überdurchschnittlich hohe Materialeinsatz dämpft das Geräusch stärker ab, als bei leichter gebauten Kameras, die durch das Auslösen des Verschlusses vibrieren (scheppern). Wie beim satten Geräusch der Tür einer Luxus-Limousine.

Auf der anderen Seite sind die M-Kameras leichter, kleiner und so natürlich geeigneter als leicht verstaubare "Immer-Dabei-Kamera". Und die neuen M-Objektive können eingesetzt werden. Und eine M ist eine M - Kult halt.

Preise der R-Objektive und der LEICAFLEX SL2 Kamera

Da die Herstellung der Spiegelreflexkameras mit dem R-Bajonett bereits 2009 eingestellt wurde, sind die R-Objektive von der weiteren Entwicklung ausgeschlossen worden. LEICA stellt zwar einen Adpater für R- auf M-Bajonett her, Puristen ist das allerdings ein Greuel, weil die Objektive so größer aussehen und auch mehr wiegen als die nativen M-Objektive.

Dadurch sind die R-Objektive heutzutage aber auch sehr viel preiswerter als die M-Objektive. Oft tausend Dollar und mehr.

Am Beispiel des hier besprochenen 50mm Summicron-R f2 II:
Ich habe für mein Exemplar Ende 2019 (Zustand A-/B+) US$299 bezahlt. Das ist etwa ein Drittel dessen, was man für das gleiche (und nicht ganz so gute!) Objektiv mit M-Bajonett bezahlen müsste.

Und erst die Kameras:
Für meine LEICAFLEX habe ich vierhundert Dollar bezahlt. Eine M-Kamera gleichen Alters im gleichen Zustand hätte mindestens fünf Mal so viel gekostet - eher mehr.

Euro Symbol
LEICA_SL2_Vitrine_a

Qualität

Es ist wirklich kein Wunder, dass der Bau dieser Kamera LEICA damals Verluste beschert hat. Hier wurde mit sehr hohem Aufwand ein Stück deutscher Ingenieurskunst erschaffen und bei der Fertigung im Werk Kamera für Kamera auch umgesetzt.

Die LEICAFLEX SL2 ist wie ein Tanker gebaut, sehr solide und robust. Das macht sich auch am Gewicht bemerkbar, 770 Gramm sind es hier für das Gehäuse.

LEICA bietet für diese Kameras auch heute noch Service an. Sollte der unwahrscheinliche Fall eintreten, dass etwas kaputt geht, kann man sie einschicken. Ich habe mir aber noch ein zweites Exemplar angeschafft, für alle Fälle:

LeicaSl2black_a

Die schwarze SL2

Diese Leicaflex konnte ich aus einem Sammlerbestand erwerben. Sie kam in Originalverpackung und wurde wohl noch nie benutzt - jedenfalls hat sie keinerlei Gebrauchsspuren. Zudem sind die Schriftzüge "Leitz" und "SL2" noch weiß; durch UV Strahlen vergilben diese Schriftzüge. Der Schriftzug "LEICAFLEX" kann als Ersatzteil leicht ausgetauscht werden. Daher ist der bei vielen Kameras weiß, obwohl die Schriftzüge links und rechts an der Kamera vergilbt sind.

Die schwarze Variante kostet deutlich mehr als die silberne, und der schwarze Lack ist deutlich anfälliger für Kratzspuren - wie man bei den meisten zum Verkauf angebotenen Kameras auf eBay sehen kann. Die hier war wirklich ein Glücksfall!

An der Kamera ist das 35mm f2.0 SUMMICRON-R, das weiter unten beschrieben wird.

WICHTIG

Die LEICAFLEX SL Kameras waren damals für Batterien mit 1,35 Volt konzipiert. Die Kamera hat zwei Batterieschächte, einen an der Unterseite und einen auf der Vorderseite. Da diese 1,35 Volt Batterien aber Quecksilber enthielten, wurden sie verboten. Da es heute keine 1,35 Volt Batterien mehr gibt, muss man auf 1,5 Volt Batterien ausweichen (Typ PX 625 A-G-U).

Dadurch bekommt der Belichtungsmesser mehr Strom als vom Hersteller vorgesehen war und zeigt daher nicht mehr richtig an. Entweder muss man die Kamera einschicken, um das nachjustieren zu lassen, oder man stellt die ASA (DIN) eine Stufe höher ein. Bei einem 100 ASA Film dann also auf 200 ASA. Das ist nicht hundertprozentig genau, die verbleibenden kleinen Abweichungen können dann aber hinterher im Post noch leicht korrigiert werden - wenn das vom Labor nicht schon bei der Entwicklung des Films bereits entsprechend kompensiert wurde. Ist kein Problem, muss man nur wissen, sonst wird halt der erste Film nicht optimal belichtet.

Leica50mmf2

Welche Seriennummer sollte das 50mm SUMMICRON-R f2 haben?

Dieses Objektiv gibt es in zwei Versionen - Mark I und Mark II. Am Objektiv selber ist diese Zusatzbezeichnung aber nicht angebracht und so kann man das nur von den Seriennummern ableiten.

  • Leica 50mm Summicron-R f2 I
    Baujahre 1964 - 1976, Artikel Nr. 11 228
  • Leica 50mm Summicron-R f2 II
    Baujahre 1976 - 2009, Artikel Nr. 11 215

Wie auf dem Foto zu erkennen, hat mein Objektiv die Seriennummer 2 822 821, ist also aus dem Baujahr 1977 (Seriennummern 2 809 401 - 2 880 600).

Eigentlich müsste es bei eBay einen deutlichen Unterschied zwischen diesen beiden Versionen geben, je nachdem ob sie eine Seriennummer von unter oder über 2 809 401 haben - denn die neueren MARK II Objektive sind besser. Da aber viele nicht auf die Seriennummern achten, gibt es da fast keinen Preisunterschied. Ein Kauf der älteren Variante aufgrund eines günstigeren Prieses lohnt also nicht!

Verzeichnisse des Baujahrs und der Seriennummern

Bevor man eine Kamera oder ein Objektiv kauft, sollte man sich also unbedingt an Hand der Seriennummern vergewissern, wann sie hergestellt wurden.

  • Kameras - Leica-Wiki
    Meine LEICAFLEX SL 2 hat die Seriennummer 1441711 und ist in der Wiki-Liste dem Produktionszyklus 1975-1976 zugeordnet.
  • Objektive - Leica-Wiki
    Bei den Objektiven ist die Seriennummer sehr wichtig, weil die Objektive unter gleichem Namen in verschiedenen Versionen verkauft wurden, und da sind die neuesten Versionen oft die besten.
  • LEICA Kompendium von Thorsten von Overgaard
    Diese Liste ist sehr gründlich recherchiert. Hier findet man Infos zu Kameras und Objektiven, inklusive der Artikelnummern.
  • WICHTIG
    Für die LEICAFLEX SL2 müssen es sogenannte 2-cam oder 3-cam Objektive sein, nur dann werden die Informationen richtig an den Belichtungsmesser der Kamera übertragen. Alte 1-cam Objektive hat LEICA oft mit 2- oder 3-cam nachgerüstet, daher können auch sehr alte Objektive das richtige Anschluss-Format haben. Vorsicht: Die ganz neuen R-Objektive mit ROM-Kontakten lassen sich nur an den LEICA-R-Kameras anbringen - an der LEICAFLEX nicht! Es sollte 2-cam oder besser 3-cam in der Bezeichnung des Objektivs stehen, dann ist alles o.k., steht da ROM, dann Finger weg!
    Hier kann man das nachlesen >>>
LeicaRED-300x300

Ein Video zur LEICAFLEX SL2 mit dem 50mm Summicron-R f2 II

Auf dem YouTube Channel "Analog Insights" werden sehr gute Videos zur analogen Fotografie veröffentlicht. Dieses Video stellt die LEICAFLEX SL 2 ausführlich vor und zeigt ihr Potential an Hand von Fotos:

Welche Objektive sollte man sich noch anschaffen?

Eigentlich braucht man außer dem 50mm kein weiteres Objektiv. Eigentlich.

Die Brennweite von 50mm ist tatsächlich ein Allrounder, ein paar Schritte nach vorne oder nach hinten und schon passt der Bildausschnitt. Portraits, Architektur, Streetphotography, Landschaftsaufnahmen.

Landschaftsaufnahmen? Geht auch - heutzutage lassen sich Panorama-Aufnahmen in Lightroom & Co problemlos zusammenfügen.

Liest man die Berichte von Fotografen, hört man immer wieder, dass sich ein Objektiv herauskristallisiert, mit dem am meisten fotografiert wird und dass zusätzliche Brennweiten, vor allem im Tele-Bereich, dann oft zu Hause bleiben - zu groß, zu schwer und unnötig, wenn man ein paar Schritte näher herangeht. (Hier klicken für ein Beispiel)

Bei diesem 50mm Objektiv kommt noch hinzu, dass die Qualität so hoch ist, dass man es nicht ohne weiteres durch ein anderes ersetzen kann, ohne Qualität zu verlieren. Das hat sich auch dieser junge Fotograf gedacht, als er sich lieber eine gute Kamera mit nur einer Festbrennweite gekauft hat, als sein Geld auf viele mittelmäßige (Zoom-)Objektive zu verteilen.

Wer an GAS (Gear Aquisition Syndrome) leidet, kann sich bei Thorsten von Overgaard noch über viele andere Objektive informieren. Auf seiner Webseite weit nach unten scrollen, da kommen dann die Hinweise auf Makro, Balgengeräte, Zooms und Teleobjektive.

Das 35mm SUMMICRON-R f2 II

Die 35er Brennweite macht Sinn. Wenn man in einer engen Gasse fotografiert, kann man eventuell keinen Schritt mehr zurückgehen. Hier verlassen wir aber den Niedrig-Preis-Sektor: Dieses Objektiv kostet mehr als die Kamera und das 50mm Objektiv zusammengenommen. Auch dieses Objektiv gab es in zwei Versionen - Mark I und Mark II.

  • Leica 35mm Summicron-R f2 I
    Baujahre 1972 - 1976, Artikel Nr. 11 227
  • Leica 35mm Summicron-R f2 II
    Baujahre 1977 - 2009, Artikel Nr. 11 115
    Ab der Seriennummer 2791417 aufwärts handelt es sich um diese Version

Wie auch bei dem 50mm Objektiv ist die neuere Variante zu empfehlen. Wer nicht ganz so viel ausgeben möchte, kann auf die Elmarit Objektive mit 35mm oder 28mm f2.8 ausweichen, das ist dann allerdings nicht mehr dieselbe Qualität.

Leica50mmf2
LEICA_SL2_Zubehoer

Die Kamera individualisieren

Auf dem Foto meiner SL2 sieht man noch ein paar nützliche Accessoires:

  • Handschlaufe von EDDYCAM (1)
    EDDYCAM stellt seine sehr edlen Artikel zum Tragen von Kameras alle aus Elchleder her. Das ist besonders weich und sehr angenehm auf der Haut. Für LEICA Kameras finde ich die Kombination aus außen schwarz und innen (Leica)rot besonders passend. Es gibt aber noch viele andere Kombinationsmöglichkeiten.
    Hier geht es zu seinem Shop >>>
  • Auslöseknopf (2)
    Bei der SL2 ist der Auslöser ein wenig versenkt im Einstellungsrad für die Verschlusszeiten. Die Senke sieht auch nicht so gut aus und so schraubt man einfach einen Auslöseknopf in das Gewinde für den Fernauslöser. Ich kann die Kamera so im Moment des Auslösens stabiler ruhig halten. Gibt es bei eBay in allen Farben, einfach den Suchbegriff "Auslöseknopf" eingeben.
  • Wasserwaage (3)
    Auch der "kalte" Blitzschuh der SL2 ist keine Schönheit. "Kalt" heißt er, weil er keine Kontakte hat, die Informationen von einem Aufsteckblitz an die Kamera weiterleiten könnten. Die Wasserwaage sieht in meinen Augen besser aus als der nackte Blitzschuh und ist nützlich, wenn die Kamera auf dem Stativ ist und man gerne eine Orientierung für den Horizont hätte. Gibt es bei eBay, Suchbegriffe "Wasserwaage" und "Blitzschuh".

HOLLYWOOD und die LEICA R Objektive

Manche Objektive aus der R-Bajonett Reihe haben in den letzten Jahren stark an Wert gewonnen. Was daran liegt, dass man mit ihnen sehr schöne Videos drehen kann, mit einem einzigartigen Look, den Cineasten sehr schätzen.

So hat zum Beispiel ein Zoom Objektiv, das bei LEICA als ELMARIT-Objektiv eher im unteren Regal zu finden war, von ein paar hundert Dollar auf zuletzt über achttausend Dollar zugelegt: Das Leica 28-90mm Vario-Elmarit-R f/2.8. Selbiges gilt für das Leica 35-70mm Vario-Elmarit-R f/2.8. Hollywood lässt grüßen.

Auch andere R-Objektive kommen mehr und mehr in den Focus der Regisseure, unter anderem die hier besprochenen SUMMICRON-R Objektive. Der Kameramann Daniel Haggert beschriebt diese Entwicklung in seinem Blog.

Film and  clap board movies symbol 3d. Isolated

FAZIT

Noch (!) kann man für unter US$ 1.000 eine LEICA Kamera plus Objektiv eine Kameraausrüstung erwerben, die einem in dieser Kombination alles an Qualität und Leica-Look gibt, was man sich nur wünschen kann. Wie hier beschrieben hat sowohl die LEICAFLEX SL2, als auch das 50mm Summicron-R f2 Objektiv sogar Vorteile gegenüber den deutlich teureren M-Ausrüstungen.

Man ist mit der SL2 aber natürlich nicht so "hipp" wie mit einer M-Kamera. Außenstehende, weniger informierte Zeitgenossen, vermuten in den M-Kameras die besseren und teureren Vintage Kameras - und haben nur mit letzterem Recht.

Auf der anderen Seite wird an der M-Serie natürlich kontinuierlich weiter entwickelt. In den letzten Jahren sind einige bemerkenswerte Optiken zum Sortiment hinzugekommen. Allerdings zu Preisen von teilweise über US$ 12.000 - für ein Objektiv und nicht jeder empfindet diese neu entwickelten Objektive dann auch unbedingt als Fortschritt. Die Jagd nach immer mehr Schärfe, um bei den Tests in den Fachzeitschriften mit immer höheren Bestwerten punkten zu können, kann letztlich zu Lasten der Fotografien gehen. Sehr treffend beschreibt das der LEICA Fachhändler Alexander Görlitz in seinem Blog >>>

Die SL 2 bietet unendlich viel Kamera für schmales Geld, und auch ein gewisses Understatement. Von Eingeweihten wird es für diese Kamera bei einer Begenung ein anerkennendes Lächeln geben, für einen Fotografen, der verstanden und sich dann bewusst für diese Kamera entschieden hat.

Und bei allem Understatement - Eine LEICA bleibt schließlich eine LEICA !